0.001% of “Into the Wild”

We were hungry, wary, scared and regretting our decision to stay at the top of korigad fort. We did not have any food, money, water and even basic bedding to cover our bodies. On top of it, my thoughts; Thoughts and feelings which were mostly going in the negative direction. One moment, I was thinking of strangers who could kill us in this remote area and the other one was no better of fear of being killed by wild animals. I was thinking of the bloodshed caused by the numerous battles which this place had witnessed and the possibility of evil spirits haunting us. It was 1 am in the night and the rustling of the leaves, presence of the Idol of Cory Devi, quietness and Remoteness of the place and the cold wind blowing in was all adding to our discomfort. The place was so quite that you can feel every drop of sound made and though we were thrilled to come on this adventure, we were badly shivering.

Korigad is a hill fort located 20 km away from lonavala and predates back before 1500 with a elevation of more than 3000 ft.This fort was part of the kingdom of shivaji Maharaj along with forts of Lohagarh,Visapur,Tung and Tikona.The central deity of this fort is cori Devi who resides at the top of the fort along with a temple dedicated to Lord shiva.

Thrill is a feeling of simultaneously witnessing pleasure and pain and I think we were experiencing something on similar lines. The nature was at its very best with scenic views and breathtaking landscapes. The moonlight was falling in the hut shaped temple and a small candle lit in front of the Goddess was adding to the mystery of this place. I was not able to sleep and was continuously watching the clock. It struck 2, then 3 and at 4:40I finally ventured outside of the temple. I was remembering the strangers with whom we resided in the temple and their caring nature. They were five married bachelors who always go for night trek carrying their own food. They had cooked Dal rice which was though partially cooked but you will learn to appreciate the value of it when you are hungry and have no option. They gave me this in a plate and we all set out for dinner. My family has always taught me not to have food from strangers as it can be poisoned. I recollected how my friend’s father was poisoned by a food in a train who looted all his belongings.Though, they were nice people, and I still did not go against my past learning’s and did not have anything. Staying alone in a remote place is itself an experience to cherish. It’s a self discovery journey, odyssey of contemplation and a message that we are mere speck of dust in front of nature. You would realize the meaning of life when you are so close to losing it but do not lose it because there is a greater cause because of which you are alive.

We reached the top of the fort at around 6 pm and all thanks to a local named Ghanshyam who showed us the way. We were directionless moving inside the jungle and had lost our way twice.Ghanshyam was probably more than 60 but was walking faster than us. He was drunk but we had no other option but to follow him. My evil side again turned on and I was thinking that probably this is a trap and he is taking us into some unknown place. There were almost 650 steps to the top of the castle with deep valleys on one side and beautiful scenes on the other. There were a army of monkeys who were gazing at us but luckily did not harm us. As soon as we reached the top, we saw 2 small beautiful ponds which were surprisingly clean. The fort was wider than expected and it was nature in a very sublime form. There were 3 cannons lying probably which the Britishers would have used to destroy the fort.

I was super excited on this trek as it was our determination which made us reach here especially when 3 fellow friends betrayed us in the morning of the trek. We were 2 stubborn individuals and did not cancel the plan and preferred marching ahead. The only thing I truly regret is not informing my parents. They are highly concerned about my safety and have the right to know where I am? But I fear that if I tell them, they would never allow me to go on such trivial and silly things as trek.

On a jovial note Life is not sightseeing but trekking. I truly believe that Life is the sum total of all your experiences and small journeys which you explore rather than a unified balance sheet.We descended swiftly back from the fort,took a shuttle to Lonavala,again took a local to Mumbai and off to our Guest house in a whisker.The Journey to the forts of shivaji will carry on till the time I am in Mumbai and till the time I am having new experiences.

Jai Bhavani!!!

Leave a comment